EcoWorks' 8th Annual Breakfast

Celebrating 35 years of building sustainable solutions!

Friday, November 4th, 2016


Winona LaDuke

Native American activist, environmentalist, and former Green Party vice presidential candidate 

Past Executive Directors celebrate 35 years!

2016 Sustainable Communities Champions

Mary Templeton | Executive Director, Michigan Saves

In 2013, she became Executive Director of Michigan Saves, a nonprofit that provides financing solutions for renewable energy efficiency projects. Her dedication and innovative work in the environmental field continues to inspire many.


Cody Youth Ambassadors | Detroit Institute of Technology (DIT) @ Cody High School

A student group made up of young leaders who are bringing sustainable change to their high school and the surrounding community. The success of the team speaks to the impact that young people can make when they are given the opportunity and are empowered to lead. 


LeeAnne Walters | Flint Resident and Clean Water Activist 

LeeAnne Walters became a household name when she helped expose the dangerous lead levels in the Flint water supply. LeeAnne has since become a sought-after spokeswoman for the community and continues to advocate for solutions that will bring environmental justice to the community of Flint and others like it.


Michael Craig | Teacher and Director of Horticulture Program, Drew Transition Center

Michael Craig has demonstrated dedication to the holistic education of his students with special needs by introducing them to ecologically sustainable practices. Through his work, Michael is preparing the next generation to be green leaders in Detroit and beyond.

Past Speakers and Awardees:

2016: Speaker – Winona LaDuke; Awardees – Mary Templeton, Cody Youth Ambassadors, LeeAnne Walters, Michael Craig


2015: Speaker – Governor Jennifer Granholm; Awardees – Malik Yakini, Soulardarity, John Viera, Jim Newman

2014: Speaker – Thom Murphy; Awardees – Grace Lee Boggs (Lifetime Achievement Award), Cobo Center, Guy Williams, Rev. Joan Ross, Glen Haege


2013: Speaker – Tom Osdoba; Awardees – Green Acres, Dave Norwood, John Barrie


2012: Speaker – Jerome Ringo; Awardees – Green Garage, Emile Lauzzana, Bridging Communities, Detroit Diesel


2011: Speaker – Steve Thomas; Awardees – Kenneth Cockrel, Jr., Margaret and Leonard Weber, Larry Kaufman, 71 Garfield LLC


2010: Speaker – Jason McClelland; Awardees – John Sarver, Gloria Rivera and Paula Cathcart,  Gunn Levine Architects, Habitat for Humanity Michigan


2009: Speaker – David Orr; Awardees – Fred and Barbara Erb, Michigan Interfaith Power and Light, Sunstructures Architecture, Kathryn Lynch Underwood

2016 Event Sponsors






© 2020 EcoWorks


22400 W. Seven Mile Rd.
Detroit, Michigan 48219

Tel: 313.894.1030